09,24,2021

News Blog Paper China
Acting upon Imagination: when to trust imagined trajectories in model based reinforcement learning2021-05-13   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Model based reinforcement learning (MBRL) uses an imperfect model of the world to imagine trajectories of future states and plan the best actions to maximize a reward function. These trajectories are imperfect and MBRL attempts to overcome this by relying on model predictive control (MPC) to continuously re-imagine trajectories from scratch. Such re-generation of imagined trajectories carries the major computational cost and increasing complexity in tasks with longer receding horizon. This paper aims to investigate how far in the future the imagined trajectories can be relied upon while still maintaining acceptable reward. Firstly, an error analysis is presented for systematic skipping recalculations for varying number of consecutive steps.% in several challenging benchmark control tasks. Secondly, we propose two methods offering when to trust and act upon imagined trajectories, looking at recent errors with respect to expectations, or comparing the confidence in an action imagined against its execution. Thirdly, we evaluate the effects of acting upon imagination while training the model of the world. Results show that acting upon imagination can reduce calculations by at least 20% and up to 80%, depending on the environment, while retaining acceptable reward.
 
Variational Inference MPC for Bayesian Model-based Reinforcement Learning2019-10-06   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
In recent studies on model-based reinforcement learning (MBRL), incorporating uncertainty in forward dynamics is a state-of-the-art strategy to enhance learning performance, making MBRLs competitive to cutting-edge model free methods, especially in simulated robotics tasks. Probabilistic ensembles with trajectory sampling (PETS) is a leading type of MBRL, which employs Bayesian inference to dynamics modeling and model predictive control (MPC) with stochastic optimization via the cross entropy method (CEM). In this paper, we propose a novel extension to the uncertainty-aware MBRL. Our main contributions are twofold: Firstly, we introduce a variational inference MPC, which reformulates various stochastic methods, including CEM, in a Bayesian fashion. Secondly, we propose a novel instance of the framework, called probabilistic action ensembles with trajectory sampling (PaETS). As a result, our Bayesian MBRL can involve multimodal uncertainties both in dynamics and optimal trajectories. In comparison to PETS, our method consistently improves asymptotic performance on several challenging locomotion tasks.
 
Model-based Lookahead Reinforcement Learning2019-08-15   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Model-based Reinforcement Learning (MBRL) allows data-efficient learning which is required in real world applications such as robotics. However, despite the impressive data-efficiency, MBRL does not achieve the final performance of state-of-the-art Model-free Reinforcement Learning (MFRL) methods. We leverage the strengths of both realms and propose an approach that obtains high performance with a small amount of data. In particular, we combine MFRL and Model Predictive Control (MPC). While MFRL's strength in exploration allows us to train a better forward dynamics model for MPC, MPC improves the performance of the MFRL policy by sampling-based planning. The experimental results in standard continuous control benchmarks show that our approach can achieve MFRL`s level of performance while being as data-efficient as MBRL.
 
Benchmarking Model-Based Reinforcement Learning2019-07-03   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Model-based reinforcement learning (MBRL) is widely seen as having the potential to be significantly more sample efficient than model-free RL. However, research in model-based RL has not been very standardized. It is fairly common for authors to experiment with self-designed environments, and there are several separate lines of research, which are sometimes closed-sourced or not reproducible. Accordingly, it is an open question how these various existing MBRL algorithms perform relative to each other. To facilitate research in MBRL, in this paper we gather a wide collection of MBRL algorithms and propose over 18 benchmarking environments specially designed for MBRL. We benchmark these algorithms with unified problem settings, including noisy environments. Beyond cataloguing performance, we explore and unify the underlying algorithmic differences across MBRL algorithms. We characterize three key research challenges for future MBRL research: the dynamics bottleneck, the planning horizon dilemma, and the early-termination dilemma. Finally, to maximally facilitate future research on MBRL, we open-source our benchmark in http://www.cs.toronto.edu/~tingwuwang/mbrl.html.
 
Reward Conditioned Neural Movement Primitives for Population Based Variational Policy Optimization2020-11-09   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
The aim of this paper is to study the reward based policy exploration problem in a supervised learning approach and enable robots to form complex movement trajectories in challenging reward settings and search spaces. For this, the experience of the robot, which can be bootstrapped from demonstrated trajectories, is used to train a novel Neural Processes-based deep network that samples from its latent space and generates the required trajectories given desired rewards. Our framework can generate progressively improved trajectories by sampling them from high reward landscapes, increasing the reward gradually. Variational inference is used to create a stochastic latent space to sample varying trajectories in generating population of trajectories given target rewards. We benefit from Evolutionary Strategies and propose a novel crossover operation, which is applied in the self-organized latent space of the individual policies, allowing blending of the individuals that might address different factors in the reward function. Using a number of tasks that require sequential reaching to multiple points or passing through gaps between objects, we showed that our method provides stable learning progress and significant sample efficiency compared to a number of state-of-the-art robotic reinforcement learning methods. Finally, we show the real-world suitability of our method through real robot execution involving obstacle avoidance.
 
Baconian: A Unified Open-source Framework for Model-Based Reinforcement Learning2020-05-24   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Model-Based Reinforcement Learning (MBRL) is one category of Reinforcement Learning (RL) algorithms which can improve sampling efficiency by modeling and approximating system dynamics. It has been widely adopted in the research of robotics, autonomous driving, etc. Despite its popularity, there still lacks some sophisticated and reusable open-source frameworks to facilitate MBRL research and experiments. To fill this gap, we develop a flexible and modularized framework, Baconian, which allows researchers to easily implement a MBRL testbed by customizing or building upon our provided modules and algorithms. Our framework can free users from re-implementing popular MBRL algorithms from scratch thus greatly save users' efforts on MBRL experiments.
 
Self-Correcting Models for Model-Based Reinforcement Learning2017-07-26   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
When an agent cannot represent a perfectly accurate model of its environment's dynamics, model-based reinforcement learning (MBRL) can fail catastrophically. Planning involves composing the predictions of the model; when flawed predictions are composed, even minor errors can compound and render the model useless for planning. Hallucinated Replay (Talvitie 2014) trains the model to "correct" itself when it produces errors, substantially improving MBRL with flawed models. This paper theoretically analyzes this approach, illuminates settings in which it is likely to be effective or ineffective, and presents a novel error bound, showing that a model's ability to self-correct is more tightly related to MBRL performance than one-step prediction error. These results inspire an MBRL algorithm for deterministic MDPs with performance guarantees that are robust to model class limitations.
 
Ready Policy One: World Building Through Active Learning2020-02-07   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Model-Based Reinforcement Learning (MBRL) offers a promising direction for sample efficient learning, often achieving state of the art results for continuous control tasks. However, many existing MBRL methods rely on combining greedy policies with exploration heuristics, and even those which utilize principled exploration bonuses construct dual objectives in an ad hoc fashion. In this paper we introduce Ready Policy One (RP1), a framework that views MBRL as an active learning problem, where we aim to improve the world model in the fewest samples possible. RP1 achieves this by utilizing a hybrid objective function, which crucially adapts during optimization, allowing the algorithm to trade off reward v.s. exploration at different stages of learning. In addition, we introduce a principled mechanism to terminate sample collection once we have a rich enough trajectory batch to improve the model. We rigorously evaluate our method on a variety of continuous control tasks, and demonstrate statistically significant gains over existing approaches.
 
Interplanetary Transfers via Deep Representations of the Optimal Policy and/or of the Value Function2019-04-18   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
A number of applications to interplanetary trajectories have been recently proposed based on deep networks. These approaches often rely on the availability of a large number of optimal trajectories to learn from. In this paper we introduce a new method to quickly create millions of optimal spacecraft trajectories from a single nominal trajectory. Apart from the generation of the nominal trajectory, no additional optimal control problems need to be solved as all the trajectories, by construction, satisfy Pontryagin's minimum principle and the relevant transversality conditions. We then consider deep feed forward neural networks and benchmark three learning methods on the created dataset: policy imitation, value function learning and value function gradient learning. Our results are shown for the case of the interplanetary trajectory optimization problem of reaching Venus orbit, with the nominal trajectory starting from the Earth. We find that both policy imitation and value function gradient learning are able to learn the optimal state feedback, while in the case of value function learning the optimal policy is not captured, only the final value of the optimal propellant mass is.
 
Sub-Goal Trees -- a Framework for Goal-Directed Trajectory Prediction and Optimization2019-06-12   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Many AI problems, in robotics and other domains, are goal-directed, essentially seeking a trajectory leading to some goal state. In such problems, the way we choose to represent a trajectory underlies algorithms for trajectory prediction and optimization. Interestingly, most all prior work in imitation and reinforcement learning builds on a sequential trajectory representation -- calculating the next state in the trajectory given its predecessors. We propose a different perspective: a goal-conditioned trajectory can be represented by first selecting an intermediate state between start and goal, partitioning the trajectory into two. Then, recursively, predicting intermediate points on each sub-segment, until a complete trajectory is obtained. We call this representation a sub-goal tree, and building on it, we develop new methods for trajectory prediction, learning, and optimization. We show that in a supervised learning setting, sub-goal trees better account for trajectory variability, and can predict trajectories exponentially faster at test time by leveraging a concurrent computation. Then, for optimization, we derive a new dynamic programming equation for sub-goal trees, and use it to develop new planning and reinforcement learning algorithms. These algorithms, which are not based on the standard Bellman equation, naturally account for hierarchical sub-goal structure in a task. Empirical results on motion planning domains show that the sub-goal tree framework significantly improves both accuracy and prediction time.
 
A Game Theoretic Framework for Model Based Reinforcement Learning2020-04-16   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Model-based reinforcement learning (MBRL) has recently gained immense interest due to its potential for sample efficiency and ability to incorporate off-policy data. However, designing stable and efficient MBRL algorithms using rich function approximators have remained challenging. To help expose the practical challenges in MBRL and simplify algorithm design from the lens of abstraction, we develop a new framework that casts MBRL as a game between: (1) a policy player, which attempts to maximize rewards under the learned model; (2) a model player, which attempts to fit the real-world data collected by the policy player. For algorithm development, we construct a Stackelberg game between the two players, and show that it can be solved with approximate bi-level optimization. This gives rise to two natural families of algorithms for MBRL based on which player is chosen as the leader in the Stackelberg game. Together, they encapsulate, unify, and generalize many previous MBRL algorithms. Furthermore, our framework is consistent with and provides a clear basis for heuristics known to be important in practice from prior works. Finally, through experiments we validate that our proposed algorithms are highly sample efficient, match the asymptotic performance of model-free policy gradient, and scale gracefully to high-dimensional tasks like dexterous hand manipulation.
 
Vehicle Trajectory Prediction by Transfer Learning of Semi-Supervised Models2020-07-13   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
In this work we show that semi-supervised models for vehicle trajectory prediction significantly improve performance over supervised models on state-of-the-art real-world benchmarks. Moving from supervised to semi-supervised models allows scaling-up by using unlabeled data, increasing the number of images in pre-training from Millions to a Billion. We perform ablation studies comparing transfer learning of semi-supervised and supervised models while keeping all other factors equal. Within semi-supervised models we compare contrastive learning with teacher-student methods as well as networks predicting a small number of trajectories with networks predicting probabilities over a large trajectory set. Our results using both low-level and mid-level representations of the driving environment demonstrate the applicability of semi-supervised methods for real-world vehicle trajectory prediction.
 
CoverNet: Multimodal Behavior Prediction using Trajectory Sets2020-04-01   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
We present CoverNet, a new method for multimodal, probabilistic trajectory prediction for urban driving. Previous work has employed a variety of methods, including multimodal regression, occupancy maps, and 1-step stochastic policies. We instead frame the trajectory prediction problem as classification over a diverse set of trajectories. The size of this set remains manageable due to the limited number of distinct actions that can be taken over a reasonable prediction horizon. We structure the trajectory set to a) ensure a desired level of coverage of the state space, and b) eliminate physically impossible trajectories. By dynamically generating trajectory sets based on the agent's current state, we can further improve our method's efficiency. We demonstrate our approach on public, real-world self-driving datasets, and show that it outperforms state-of-the-art methods.
 
Uncertainty-aware Contact-safe Model-based Reinforcement Learning2020-10-16   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
This paper presents contact-safe Model-based Reinforcement Learning (MBRL) for robot applications that achieves contact-safe behaviors in the learning process. In typical MBRL, we cannot expect the data-driven model to generate accurate and reliable policies to the intended robotic tasks during the learning process due to data scarcity. Operating these unreliable policies in a contact-rich environment could cause damage to the robot and its surroundings. To alleviate the risk of causing damage through unexpected intensive physical contacts, we present the contact-safe MBRL that associates the probabilistic Model Predictive Control's (pMPC) control limits with the model uncertainty so that the allowed acceleration of controlled behavior is adjusted according to learning progress. Control planning with such uncertainty-aware control limits is formulated as a deterministic MPC problem using a computationally-efficient approximated GP dynamics and an approximated inference technique. Our approach's effectiveness is evaluated through bowl mixing tasks with simulated and real robots, scooping tasks with a real robot as examples of contact-rich manipulation skills. (video: https://youtu.be/8uTDYYUKeFM)
 
Bridging Imagination and Reality for Model-Based Deep Reinforcement Learning2020-10-22   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Sample efficiency has been one of the major challenges for deep reinforcement learning. Recently, model-based reinforcement learning has been proposed to address this challenge by performing planning on imaginary trajectories with a learned world model. However, world model learning may suffer from overfitting to training trajectories, and thus model-based value estimation and policy search will be pone to be sucked in an inferior local policy. In this paper, we propose a novel model-based reinforcement learning algorithm, called BrIdging Reality and Dream (BIRD). It maximizes the mutual information between imaginary and real trajectories so that the policy improvement learned from imaginary trajectories can be easily generalized to real trajectories. We demonstrate that our approach improves sample efficiency of model-based planning, and achieves state-of-the-art performance on challenging visual control benchmarks.
 
Continuous-Time Model-Based Reinforcement Learning2021-02-09   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Model-based reinforcement learning (MBRL) approaches rely on discrete-time state transition models whereas physical systems and the vast majority of control tasks operate in continuous-time. To avoid time-discretization approximation of the underlying process, we propose a continuous-time MBRL framework based on a novel actor-critic method. Our approach also infers the unknown state evolution differentials with Bayesian neural ordinary differential equations (ODE) to account for epistemic uncertainty. We implement and test our method on a new ODE-RL suite that explicitly solves continuous-time control systems. Our experiments illustrate that the model is robust against irregular and noisy data, is sample-efficient, and can solve control problems which pose challenges to discrete-time MBRL methods.
 
Models, Pixels, and Rewards: Evaluating Design Trade-offs in Visual Model-Based Reinforcement Learning2020-12-08   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Model-based reinforcement learning (MBRL) methods have shown strong sample efficiency and performance across a variety of tasks, including when faced with high-dimensional visual observations. These methods learn to predict the environment dynamics and expected reward from interaction and use this predictive model to plan and perform the task. However, MBRL methods vary in their fundamental design choices, and there is no strong consensus in the literature on how these design decisions affect performance. In this paper, we study a number of design decisions for the predictive model in visual MBRL algorithms, focusing specifically on methods that use a predictive model for planning. We find that a range of design decisions that are often considered crucial, such as the use of latent spaces, have little effect on task performance. A big exception to this finding is that predicting future observations (i.e., images) leads to significant task performance improvement compared to only predicting rewards. We also empirically find that image prediction accuracy, somewhat surprisingly, correlates more strongly with downstream task performance than reward prediction accuracy. We show how this phenomenon is related to exploration and how some of the lower-scoring models on standard benchmarks (that require exploration) will perform the same as the best-performing models when trained on the same training data. Simultaneously, in the absence of exploration, models that fit the data better usually perform better on the downstream task as well, but surprisingly, these are often not the same models that perform the best when learning and exploring from scratch. These findings suggest that performance and exploration place important and potentially contradictory requirements on the model.
 
On the Importance of Hyperparameter Optimization for Model-based Reinforcement Learning2021-02-26   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Model-based Reinforcement Learning (MBRL) is a promising framework for learning control in a data-efficient manner. MBRL algorithms can be fairly complex due to the separate dynamics modeling and the subsequent planning algorithm, and as a result, they often possess tens of hyperparameters and architectural choices. For this reason, MBRL typically requires significant human expertise before it can be applied to new problems and domains. To alleviate this problem, we propose to use automatic hyperparameter optimization (HPO). We demonstrate that this problem can be tackled effectively with automated HPO, which we demonstrate to yield significantly improved performance compared to human experts. In addition, we show that tuning of several MBRL hyperparameters dynamically, i.e. during the training itself, further improves the performance compared to using static hyperparameters which are kept fixed for the whole training. Finally, our experiments provide valuable insights into the effects of several hyperparameters, such as plan horizon or learning rate and their influence on the stability of training and resulting rewards.
 
Kernel Trajectory Maps for Multi-Modal Probabilistic Motion Prediction2019-10-07   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Understanding the dynamics of an environment, such as the movement of humans and vehicles, is crucial for agents to achieve long-term autonomy in urban environments. This requires the development of methods to capture the multi-modal and probabilistic nature of motion patterns. We present Kernel Trajectory Maps (KTM) to capture the trajectories of movement in an environment. KTMs leverage the expressiveness of kernels from non-parametric modelling by projecting input trajectories onto a set of representative trajectories, to condition on a sequence of observed waypoint coordinates, and predict a multi-modal distribution over possible future trajectories. The output is a mixture of continuous stochastic processes, where each realisation is a continuous functional trajectory, which can be queried at arbitrarily fine time steps.
 
Variational Autoencoder Trajectory Primitives with Continuous and Discrete Latent Codes2019-12-09   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Imitation learning is an intuitive approach for teaching motion to robotic systems. Although previous studies have proposed various methods to model demonstrated movement primitives, one of the limitations of existing methods is that it is not trivial to modify their planned trajectory once the model is learned. The trajectory of a robotic manipulator is often high-dimensional, and it is not easy to tune the shape of the planned trajectory in an intuitive manner. We address this problem by learning the latent space of the robot trajectory. If the latent variable of the trajectories can be learned, it can be used to tune the trajectory in an intuitive manner even when the user is an expert. We propose a framework for modeling demonstrated trajectories with a neural network that learns the low-dimensional latent space. Our neural network structure is built on the variational autoencoder (VAE) with discrete and continuous latent variables. We extend the structure of the existing VAE to obtain the decoder that is conditioned on the goal position of the trajectory for generalization to different goal positions. To cope with requirement of the massive training data, we use a trajectory augmentation technique inspired by the data augmentation commonly used in the computer vision community. In the proposed framework, the latent variables that encodes the multiple types of trajectories are learned in an unsupervised manner. The learned decoder can be used as a motion planner in which the user can specify the goal position and the trajectory types by setting the latent variables. The experimental results show that our neural network can be trained using a limited number of demonstrated trajectories and that the interpretable latent representations can be learned.