10,16,2021

News Blog Paper China
Adversarial Machine Learning in Recommender Systems: State of the art and Challenges2020-05-20   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Latent-factor models (LFM) based on collaborative filtering (CF), such as matrix factorization (MF) and deep CF methods, are widely used in modern recommender systems (RS) due to their excellent performance and recommendation accuracy. Notwithstanding their great success, in recent years, it has been shown that these methods are vulnerable to adversarial examples, i.e., subtle but non-random perturbations designed to force recommendation models to produce erroneous outputs. The main reason for this behavior is that user interaction data used for training of LFM can be contaminated by malicious activities or users' misoperation that can induce an unpredictable amount of natural noise and harm recommendation outcomes. On the other side, it has been shown that these systems, conceived originally to attack machine learning applications, can be successfully adopted to strengthen their robustness against attacks as well as to train more precise recommendation engines. In this respect, the goal of this survey is two-fold: (i) to present recent advances on AML-RS for the security of RS (i.e., attacking and defense recommendation models), (ii) to show another successful application of AML in generative adversarial networks (GANs), which use the core concept of learning in AML (i.e., the min-max game) for generative applications. In this survey, we provide an exhaustive literature review of 60 articles published in major RS and ML journals and conferences. This review serves as a reference for the RS community, working on the security of RS and recommendation models leveraging generative models to improve their quality.
 
Attacking Recommender Systems with Augmented User Profiles2020-07-23   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Recommendation Systems (RS) have become an essential part of many online services. Due to its pivotal role in guiding customers towards purchasing, there is a natural motivation for unscrupulous parties to spoof RS for profits. In this paper, we study the shilling attack: a subsistent and profitable attack where an adversarial party injects a number of user profiles to promote or demote a target item. Conventional shilling attack models are based on simple heuristics that can be easily detected, or directly adopt adversarial attack methods without a special design for RS. Moreover, the study on the attack impact on deep learning based RS is missing in the literature, making the effects of shilling attack against real RS doubtful. We present a novel Augmented Shilling Attack framework (AUSH) and implement it with the idea of Generative Adversarial Network. AUSH is capable of tailoring attacks against RS according to budget and complex attack goals, such as targeting a specific user group. We experimentally show that the attack impact of AUSH is noticeable on a wide range of RS including both classic and modern deep learning based RS, while it is virtually undetectable by the state-of-the-art attack detection model.
 
Recommender Systems Based on Generative Adversarial Networks: A Problem-Driven Perspective2020-03-05   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Recommender systems (RS) play a very important role in various aspects of people's online life. Many companies leverage RS to help users discover new and favored items. Despite their empirical success, these systems still suffer from two main problems: data noise and data sparsity. In recent years, Generative Adversarial Networks (GANs) have received a surge of interests in many fields because of their great potential to learn complex real data distribution, and they also provide new means to mitigate the aforementioned problems of RS. Particularly, owing to adversarial learning, the problem of data noise can be handled by adding adversarial perturbations or forcing discriminators to tell the informative and uninformative data examples apart. As for the mitigation of data sparsity issue, the GAN-based models are able to replicate the real distribution of the user-item interactions and augment the available data. To gain a comprehensive understanding of these GAN-based recommendation models, we provide a retrospective of these studies and organize them from a problem-driven perspective. Specifically, we propose a taxonomy of these models, along with a detailed description of them and their advantages. Finally, we elaborate on several open issues and expand on current trends in the GAN-based RS.
 
Learning Recommendations While Influencing Interests2018-03-23   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Personalized recommendation systems (RS) are extensively used in many services. Many of these are based on learning algorithms where the RS uses the recommendation history and the user response to learn an optimal strategy. Further, these algorithms are based on the assumption that the user interests are rigid. Specifically, they do not account for the effect of learning strategy on the evolution of the user interests. In this paper we develop influence models for a learning algorithm that is used to optimally recommend websites to web users. We adapt the model of \cite{Ioannidis10} to include an item-dependent reward to the RS from the suggestions that are accepted by the user. For this we first develop a static optimisation scheme when all the parameters are known. Next we develop a stochastic approximation based learning scheme for the RS to learn the optimal strategy when the user profiles are not known. Finally, we describe several user-influence models for the learning algorithm and analyze their effect on the steady user interests and on the steady state optimal strategy as compared to that when the users are not influenced.
 
Insta-RS: Instance-wise Randomized Smoothing for Improved Robustness and Accuracy2021-03-07   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Randomized smoothing (RS) is an effective and scalable technique for constructing neural network classifiers that are certifiably robust to adversarial perturbations. Most RS works focus on training a good base model that boosts the certified robustness of the smoothed model. However, existing RS techniques treat every data point the same, i.e., the variance of the Gaussian noise used to form the smoothed model is preset and universal for all training and test data. This preset and universal Gaussian noise variance is suboptimal since different data points have different margins and the local properties of the base model vary across the input examples. In this paper, we examine the impact of customized handling of examples and propose Instance-wise Randomized Smoothing (Insta-RS) -- a multiple-start search algorithm that assigns customized Gaussian variances to test examples. We also design Insta-RS Train -- a novel two-stage training algorithm that adaptively adjusts and customizes the noise level of each training example for training a base model that boosts the certified robustness of the instance-wise Gaussian smoothed model. Through extensive experiments on CIFAR-10 and ImageNet, we show that our method significantly enhances the average certified radius (ACR) as well as the clean data accuracy compared to existing state-of-the-art provably robust classifiers.
 
Sparse-RS: a versatile framework for query-efficient sparse black-box adversarial attacks2020-06-23   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
A large body of research has focused on adversarial attacks which require to modify all input features with small $l_2$- or $l_\infty$-norms. In this paper we instead focus on query-efficient sparse attacks in the black-box setting. Our versatile framework, Sparse-RS, based on random search achieves state-of-the-art success rate and query efficiency for different sparse attack models such as $l_0$-bounded perturbations (outperforming established white-box methods), adversarial patches, and adversarial framing. We show the effectiveness of Sparse-RS on different datasets considering problems from image recognition and malware detection and multiple variations of sparse threat models, including targeted and universal perturbations. In particular Sparse-RS can be used for realistic attacks such as universal adversarial patch attacks without requiring a substitute model. The code of our framework is available at https://github.com/fra31/sparse-rs.
 
A Novel Privacy-Preserved Recommender System Framework based on Federated Learning2020-11-11   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Recommender System (RS) is currently an effective way to solve information overload. To meet users' next click behavior, RS needs to collect users' personal information and behavior to achieve a comprehensive and profound user preference perception. However, these centrally collected data are privacy-sensitive, and any leakage may cause severe problems to both users and service providers. This paper proposed a novel privacy-preserved recommender system framework (PPRSF), through the application of federated learning paradigm, to enable the recommendation algorithm to be trained and carry out inference without centrally collecting users' private data. The PPRSF not only able to reduces the privacy leakage risk, satisfies legal and regulatory requirements but also allows various recommendation algorithms to be applied.
 
A learning-based algorithm to quickly compute good primal solutions for Stochastic Integer Programs2019-12-17   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
We propose a novel approach using supervised learning to obtain near-optimal primal solutions for two-stage stochastic integer programming (2SIP) problems with constraints in the first and second stages. The goal of the algorithm is to predict a "representative scenario" (RS) for the problem such that, deterministically solving the 2SIP with the random realization equal to the RS, gives a near-optimal solution to the original 2SIP. Predicting an RS, instead of directly predicting a solution ensures first-stage feasibility of the solution. If the problem is known to have complete recourse, second-stage feasibility is also guaranteed. For computational testing, we learn to find an RS for a two-stage stochastic facility location problem with integer variables and linear constraints in both stages and consistently provide near-optimal solutions. Our computing times are very competitive with those of general-purpose integer programming solvers to achieve a similar solution quality.
 
RadixSpline: A Single-Pass Learned Index2020-05-22   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Recent research has shown that learned models can outperform state-of-the-art index structures in size and lookup performance. While this is a very promising result, existing learned structures are often cumbersome to implement and are slow to build. In fact, most approaches that we are aware of require multiple training passes over the data. We introduce RadixSpline (RS), a learned index that can be built in a single pass over the data and is competitive with state-of-the-art learned index models, like RMI, in size and lookup performance. We evaluate RS using the SOSD benchmark and show that it achieves competitive results on all datasets, despite the fact that it only has two parameters.
 
Adaptive Initialization Method for K-means Algorithm2019-11-27   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
The K-means algorithm is a widely used clustering algorithm that offers simplicity and efficiency. However, the traditional K-means algorithm uses the random method to determine the initial cluster centers, which make clustering results prone to local optima and then result in worse clustering performance. Many initialization methods have been proposed, but none of them can dynamically adapt to datasets with various characteristics. In our previous research, an initialization method for K-means based on hybrid distance was proposed, and this algorithm can adapt to datasets with different characteristics. However, it has the following drawbacks: (a) When calculating density, the threshold cannot be uniquely determined, resulting in unstable results. (b) Heavily depending on adjusting the parameter, the parameter must be adjusted five times to obtain better clustering results. (c) The time complexity of the algorithm is quadratic, which is difficult to apply to large datasets. In the current paper, we proposed an adaptive initialization method for the K-means algorithm (AIMK) to improve our previous work. AIMK can not only adapt to datasets with various characteristics but also obtain better clustering results within two interactions. In addition, we then leverage random sampling in AIMK, which is named as AIMK-RS, to reduce the time complexity. AIMK-RS is easily applied to large and high-dimensional datasets. We compared AIMK and AIMK-RS with 10 different algorithms on 16 normal and six extra-large datasets. The experimental results show that AIMK and AIMK-RS outperform the current initialization methods and several well-known clustering algorithms. Furthermore, AIMK-RS can significantly reduce the complexity of applying it to extra-large datasets with high dimensions. The time complexity of AIMK-RS is O(n).
 
Graph Learning based Recommender Systems: A Review2021-05-13   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Recent years have witnessed the fast development of the emerging topic of Graph Learning based Recommender Systems (GLRS). GLRS employ advanced graph learning approaches to model users' preferences and intentions as well as items' characteristics for recommendations. Differently from other RS approaches, including content-based filtering and collaborative filtering, GLRS are built on graphs where the important objects, e.g., users, items, and attributes, are either explicitly or implicitly connected. With the rapid development of graph learning techniques, exploring and exploiting homogeneous or heterogeneous relations in graphs are a promising direction for building more effective RS. In this paper, we provide a systematic review of GLRS, by discussing how they extract important knowledge from graph-based representations to improve the accuracy, reliability and explainability of the recommendations. First, we characterize and formalize GLRS, and then summarize and categorize the key challenges and main progress in this novel research area. Finally, we share some new research directions in this vibrant area.
 
Weighted Random Search for Hyperparameter Optimization2020-04-03   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
We introduce an improved version of Random Search (RS), used here for hyperparameter optimization of machine learning algorithms. Unlike the standard RS, which generates for each trial new values for all hyperparameters, we generate new values for each hyperparameter with a probability of change. The intuition behind our approach is that a value that already triggered a good result is a good candidate for the next step, and should be tested in new combinations of hyperparameter values. Within the same computational budget, our method yields better results than the standard RS. Our theoretical results prove this statement. We test our method on a variation of one of the most commonly used objective function for this class of problems (the Grievank function) and for the hyperparameter optimization of a deep learning CNN architecture. Our results can be generalized to any optimization problem defined on a discrete domain.
 
RecSim: A Configurable Simulation Platform for Recommender Systems2019-09-26   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
We propose RecSim, a configurable platform for authoring simulation environments for recommender systems (RSs) that naturally supports sequential interaction with users. RecSim allows the creation of new environments that reflect particular aspects of user behavior and item structure at a level of abstraction well-suited to pushing the limits of current reinforcement learning (RL) and RS techniques in sequential interactive recommendation problems. Environments can be easily configured that vary assumptions about: user preferences and item familiarity; user latent state and its dynamics; and choice models and other user response behavior. We outline how RecSim offers value to RL and RS researchers and practitioners, and how it can serve as a vehicle for academic-industrial collaboration.
 
Explanations for Temporal Recommendations2018-07-16   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Recommendation systems are an integral part of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and have become increasingly important in the growing age of commercialization in AI. Deep learning (DL) techniques for recommendation systems (RS) provide powerful latent-feature models for effective recommendation but suffer from the major drawback of being non-interpretable. In this paper we describe a framework for explainable temporal recommendations in a DL model. We consider an LSTM based Recurrent Neural Network (RNN) architecture for recommendation and a neighbourhood-based scheme for generating explanations in the model. We demonstrate the effectiveness of our approach through experiments on the Netflix dataset by jointly optimizing for both prediction accuracy and explainability.
 
Learning to Shape Rewards using a Game of Switching Controls2021-03-16   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Reward shaping (RS) is a powerful method in reinforcement learning (RL) for overcoming the problem of sparse and uninformative rewards. However, RS relies on manually engineered shaping-reward functions whose construction is typically time-consuming and error-prone. It also requires domain knowledge which runs contrary to the goal of autonomous learning. In this paper, we introduce an automated RS framework in which the shaping-reward function is constructed in a novel stochastic game between two agents. One agent learns both which states to add shaping rewards and their optimal magnitudes and the other agent learns the optimal policy for the task using the shaped rewards. We prove theoretically that our framework, which easily adopts existing RL algorithms, learns to construct a shaping-reward function that is tailored to the task and ensures convergence to higher performing policies for the given task. We demonstrate the superior performance of our method against state-of-the-art RS algorithms in Cartpole and the challenging console games Gravitar, Solaris and Super Mario.
 
Optimizing Long-term Social Welfare in Recommender Systems: A Constrained Matching Approach2020-07-31   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Most recommender systems (RS) research assumes that a user's utility can be maximized independently of the utility of the other agents (e.g., other users, content providers). In realistic settings, this is often not true---the dynamics of an RS ecosystem couple the long-term utility of all agents. In this work, we explore settings in which content providers cannot remain viable unless they receive a certain level of user engagement. We formulate the recommendation problem in this setting as one of equilibrium selection in the induced dynamical system, and show that it can be solved as an optimal constrained matching problem. Our model ensures the system reaches an equilibrium with maximal social welfare supported by a sufficiently diverse set of viable providers. We demonstrate that even in a simple, stylized dynamical RS model, the standard myopic approach to recommendation---always matching a user to the best provider---performs poorly. We develop several scalable techniques to solve the matching problem, and also draw connections to various notions of user regret and fairness, arguing that these outcomes are fairer in a utilitarian sense.
 
Understanding the Importance of Single Directions via Representative Substitution2019-01-20   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Understanding the internal representations of deep neural networks (DNNs) is crucal to explain their behavior. The interpretation of individual units, which are neurons in MLPs or convolution kernels in convolutional networks, has been paid much attention given their fundamental role. However, recent research (Morcos et al. 2018) presented a counterintuitive phenomenon, which suggests that an individual unit with high class selectivity, called interpretable units, has poor contributions to generalization of DNNs. In this work, we provide a new perspective to understand this counterintuitive phenomenon, which makes sense when we introduce Representative Substitution (RS). Instead of individually selective units with classes, the RS refers to the independence of a unit's representations in the same layer without any annotation. Our experiments demonstrate that interpretable units have high RS which are not critical to network's generalization. The RS provides new insights into the interpretation of DNNs and suggests that we need to focus on the independence and relationship of the representations.
 
Variational Auto-encoder for Recommender Systems with Exploration-Exploitation2020-06-10   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
Variational auto-encoder (VAE) is an efficient non-linear latent factor model that has been widely applied in recommender systems (RS). However, a drawback of VAE for RS is their inability of exploration. A good RS is expected to recommend items that are known to enjoy and items that are novel to try. In this work, we introduce an exploitation-exploration motivated VAE (XploVAE) to collaborative filtering. To facilitate personalized recommendations, we construct user-specific subgraphs, which contain the first-order proximity capturing observed user-item interactions for exploitation and the higher-order proximity for exploration. We further develop a hierarchical latent space model to learn the population distribution of the user subgraphs, and learn the personalized item embedding. Empirical experiments prove the effectiveness of our proposed method on various real-world data sets.
 
Online Robustness Training for Deep Reinforcement Learning2019-11-22   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
In deep reinforcement learning (RL), adversarial attacks can trick an agent into unwanted states and disrupt training. We propose a system called Robust Student-DQN (RS-DQN), which permits online robustness training alongside Q networks, while preserving competitive performance. We show that RS-DQN can be combined with (i) state-of-the-art adversarial training and (ii) provably robust training to obtain an agent that is resilient to strong attacks during training and evaluation.
 
Coupled Item-based Matrix Factorization2014-04-07   ${\displaystyle \cong }$
The essence of the challenges cold start and sparsity in Recommender Systems (RS) is that the extant techniques, such as Collaborative Filtering (CF) and Matrix Factorization (MF), mainly rely on the user-item rating matrix, which sometimes is not informative enough for predicting recommendations. To solve these challenges, the objective item attributes are incorporated as complementary information. However, most of the existing methods for inferring the relationships between items assume that the attributes are "independently and identically distributed (iid)", which does not always hold in reality. In fact, the attributes are more or less coupled with each other by some implicit relationships. Therefore, in this pa-per we propose an attribute-based coupled similarity measure to capture the implicit relationships between items. We then integrate the implicit item coupling into MF to form the Coupled Item-based Matrix Factorization (CIMF) model. Experimental results on two open data sets demonstrate that CIMF outperforms the benchmark methods.